NameTerm End Date
There are no records.


NameTerm EndsTitle
Bonnie J. Clark4/25/2025Member67458900
Jeannie Larmon, Ph.D., RPA4/18/2027Member67601970
Andrea Palmiotto, PhD, RPA, D-ABFA4/25/2025Member67603165
Kelsey M. Reese, Ph.D.4/18/2027Member67592322

Committee Charge & Composition


Committee Charge

The committee is charged with making recommendations concerning the overall content and structure of the SAA awards program; this charge entails activities such as reviewing proposals for new SAA awards, making recommendations to combine awards, recommending new awards that fill important voids, changing the frequency of some awards, or changing the venue at which some awards are presented. The committee is also charged with ensuring the smooth operation of the awards program; it assists and oversees individual awards committees in formulating procedures, finding members, issuing timely calls for nominations, issuing timely notifications, and so forth. The Board charges the chair with collecting the following information each year from each award committee: 1) total number of submissions/nominations, 2) total number of submissions/nominations by gender, and 3) name of award recipient. This information should be reported for each award committee in the Committee on Award’s annual spring report to the Board.

Committee Composition

Committee composition is one chair and at least four members.

The Committee oversees the following committees: Award for Excellence in Archaeological Analysis Committee

Award for Excellence in Cultural Resource Management Committee

Award for Excellence in Curation, Collections Management, and Collections-Based Research and Education Committee (2 awards)

Award for Excellence in Latin American and Caribbean Archaeology Committee

Award for Excellence in Public Education Committee (3 awards)

Book Award Committee (2 awards)

Crabtree Award Committee

Fryxell Award for Interdisciplinary Research Committee

Gene S. Stuart Award Committee

Lifetime Achievement Award Committee

Teaching Awards Committee

Charles Stanish [Travel] Award Committee

Dissertation Award Committee

Student Paper Award Committee

Student Poster Award Committee

Dienje Kenyon Memorial Fellowship Committee

Geoarchaeology Award Committee (3 awards)

Fred Plog Memorial Fellowship Committee

Cheryl L. Wase Scholarship Committee

Matthew Tobin Cappetta Scholarship Committee

Minority Scholarships Committee (2 scholarships with multiple awards)

Native American Scholarships Committee (5 scholarships, some with multiple awards)

Committee Reports:

2022 Spring Committee Report (2022)

2023 Spring Committee Report (2023)

2024 Spring Committee Report (2024)